Nik Coble named All-State

WACO junior honored as second-team nominee in Class 1A

GTNS photo by Andy Krutsinger

WACO’s Nik Coble scored 17.9 points per game and led Class 1A with 310 rebounds en route to his first ever All-State nomination in his junior season.
GTNS photo by Andy Krutsinger WACO’s Nik Coble scored 17.9 points per game and led Class 1A with 310 rebounds en route to his first ever All-State nomination in his junior season.

WACO junior Nik Coble is an All-State basketball player. The Iowa Print Sportswriters Association picked its All-State teams this weekend and Coble was selected to represent the Warriors on the Class 1A second team.

The selection was Coble’s first ever All-State nomination. He was also the only Henry County basketball player to be selected to the All-State teams this season.

Coble led Class 1A with 14.1 rebounds per game this season, 310 total. He finished the year with 229 defensive and 81 offensive rebounds. Coble also scored 17.9 points per game and finished fifth place in the class in blocks, with 80. He dished out 83 assists, as well, which was second on the team.

When the postseason came around, Coble stepped his game up even more. The junior post had 15 points and 21 rebounds in the first round game against Lone Tree. He scored 28 points and pulled down 14 rebounds against Pekin, also hitting the game-winning three-pointer in the final seconds. He finished with 19 points and 12 rebounds in the Warriors’ comeback win over No. 5 New London, and put up 15 points and 13 rebounds in the subsdtate game against Alburnett.

Bettendorf’s D.J. Carton, who will be playing for Ohio State next year, shared Mr. Basketball honors with Jake Hilmer of Class 2A champion North Linn. It was the first time since 1999 that there was a split for Mr. Basketball. In 1999, Sioux City West’s Kirk Hinrich and Iowa Falls’ Nick Collison shared the title. Both went on to play for the University of Kansas, and both eventually played in the NBA.

The full list of All-State selections can be found below, with the athlete’s grade in school in parenthesis.

CLASS 1A ALL-STATE FIRST TEAM: Andrew Gibb (12), Ft. Dodge St. Edmond; Brennan Sefrit (11), Bedford; Codey Hicks (12), Janesville; Issa Samake (12), Grandview Christian; Nick Reid (11), Central City; T.J. Schnurr (12), Algona Garrigan; Trey Shearer (10), Montezuma; Zach Martinez (12), West Fork.

CLASS 1A ALL-STATE SECOND TEAM: Brady Happel (12), Dunkerton; Bryce Coppock (11), Newell-Fonda; Cole Burmeister (12), Newell-Fonda; Cole Burmeister (12), Exira-EHK; Hunter Decker (12), Sioux Central; Izic Mackey (12), Alburnett; Jackson Louscher (11), South O’Brien; Kaidon Larson (12), Prince of Peace; Nik Coble (11), WACO.

CLASS 1A ALL-STATE THIRD TEAM: Angelo Winkel (10), Algona-Garrigan; Caleb Grizzle (12), Ankeny Christian; Hunter Rickels (12), Calamus-Wheatland; J.D. Stout (11), Keota; Jack Kelley (12), Don Bosco; Jared Gast (12), Council Bluffs St. Albert; Parker Hitt (12), Mormon Trail; Spencer Schorg (11), Remsen St. Mary’s.

CLASS 2A ALL-STATE FIRST TEAM: Beau De Jongh (12), Boyden-Hull; Ben Heeren (12), Ogden; Conner Hill (12), South Hamilton; Cooper DeJean (10), OABCIG; Jace Davidson (12), Pocahantas; Jake Hilmer (12), North Linn; Masen Miller (11), Iowa City Regina; Ryan Schmitt (12), Van Meter.

CLASS 2A ALL-STATE SECOND TEAM: Andrew VanRyswyk (12), PCM; Avery Busta (12), Forest City; Cade Fuller (12), Dike-New Hartford; Caleb Delzell (11), Camanche; Carter Cuvelier (12), Aplington-Parkersburg; Hunter Dekkers (11), West Sioux; James Betz (12), Garner Hayfield-Ventura; Keaton Mitchell (12), Wapello.

CLASS 2A ALL-STATE THIRD TEAM: Ben Wolgemuth (12), Mediapolis; Cam Spenkson (11), Camanche; Curran Ingram (11), Des Moines Christian; Haris Hoffman (12), Cascade; Justin Recker (10), Monticello; Logan Peters (12), South Hamilton; Trey Hinote (12), Greene County; Zane Neubaum (11), South Central Calhoun.

CLASS 3A ALL-STATE FIRST TEAM: A.J. Becker (12), Maquoketa; Bowen Born (11), Norwalk; Cole Henry (12), Oskaloosa; Collin Lister (12), Carlisle; Derek Krogmann (12), West Delaware; Jackson Molestead (11), Central City; Owen Coburn (12), Spirit Lake; Xavier Foster (11), Oskaloosa.

CLASS 3A ALL-STATE SECOND TEAM: Alex Irwin (12), Le Mars; Christian Stanislav (12), Glenwood; Conner Groves (12), Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Drew Enke (12), Clear Lake; Dylan Peeters (12), Davenport Assumption; Easton Darling (11), Winterset; Goanar Biliew (11), Denison-Schelswig; Kylan Smallwood (12), Crestood.

CLASS 3A ALL-STATE THRID TEAM: Daniel Wright (11), Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Jacob Schockenmoehl (11), Wahlert Catholic; Keaton Kuther (10), Mt. Vernon; Kieren Nichols (10), Knoxville; Logan Shetterly (11), Pella; Macklin Shanahan (12), Maquoketa; Nate Michels (12), Benton; Rian Yates (12), Oskaloosa.

CLASS 4A ALL-STATE FIRST TEAM: Aidan Vanderloo (12), Sioux City East; D.J. Carton (12), Bettendorf; Keegan Murray (12), Cedar Rapids Prairie; Logan Wolf (12), Cedar Falls; Noah Carter (12), Dubuque Senior; Patrick McCaffery (12), Iowa City West; Trey Hutcheson (12), Linn-Mar, Treyke Locure (12), Des Moines North.

CLASS 4A ALL-STATE SECOND TEAM: Cliff McCray (12), Sioux City West; Dylan Jones (12), Waukee; Evan Gauger (12), Indianola; Keshawn Pegues (12), Davenport Central; Kris Murray (12), Cedar Rapids Prairie; Tamin Lipsey (9), Ames; Ty Anderson (12), North Scott; Tyrese Nickelson (12), Waterloo East.

CLASS 4A ALL-STATE THIRD TEAM: Cortaviaus Seales (12), North Scott; Jack Wetzel (11), Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Japannah Kellogg (12), Ames; Matt Stillwill (11), West Des Moines Dowling; Mick McCurry (12), Cedar Rapids Washington; Noah Hart (12), Waukee; Peyton Williams (12), Johnston; Trayvon Williams (12), West Des Moines Valley.