Williamson, Buffington named to IBCA All-Region team

The Iowa Basketball Coaches Association came out with their All-Region teams last week, and two Henry County players were selected. Both Mt. Pleasant’s Maddie Williamson and Winfield-Mt. Union’s Jenna Buffington were selected to their respective regional teams.

Due to the Panthers getting knocked out in the first round, Maddie Williamson had just one game in the Regionals, but she made the most of it. Williamson scored 22 points in the regional tournament and also led the team with four steals.

Williamson was joined on the All-Region team by three Marion players, Karsyn Stratton of Clear Creek-Amana and Shaylin Drish of Fairfield. Williamson was the only senior named to the squad. Marion’s Corby Laube was named Coach of the Year for the region.

Buffington had two games to get her name on the All-Region team. Buffington scored 10 points, pulled down 10 rebounds and had four steals in W-MU’s 10-point upset win at WACO. The sophomore post didn’t score in the game against Sigourney, but still finished with six rebounds and two steals.

Buffington is joined on the Class 1A Region 5 team by three players from Montezuma and twoeach from Sigourney and Notre Dame.

Buffington was one of two sophomores selected to the Regoin 5 team. Montezuma’s Riley Gatton was the lone senior on the list.

Listed below is the All-Region team for both, with the player’s grade in school listed in parenthesis.

CLASS 4A REGION 7: Kaba Laube (11), Marion; Riley Wright (10), Marion; Karsyn Stratton (11), Clear Creek-Amana; Shaylin Drish (11), Fairfield; Ella Van Weelden (10), Marion; Maddie Williamson (12), Mt. Pleasant.

CLASS 1A REGION 5: Shateah Wetering (11), Montezuma; Megan Stuhr (11), Sigourney; Riley Gatton (12), Montezuma; Kaylee Weber (10), Sigourney; Jenna Buffington (10), Winfield-Mt. Union; Katy Stephens (9), Notre Dame; Chelsey Boettcher (11), Moulton-Udell; Taylor Ackerman (11), Notre Dame.